Wednesday, July 10, 2013

Waiting on Wednesday 4 - Champion



Waiting on Wednesday is a meme hosted by Breaking the Spine, where bloggers pick a book that hasn't been published yet that they are excited to read.

This week, I'm looking forward to the final book in the Legend series, Champion!

Title: Champion
Author: Marie Lu
Genre: dystopian, science fiction, suspense, YA
Date published: November 5, 2013

Goodreads summary:

The explosive finale to Marie Lu’s New York Times bestselling LEGEND trilogy—perfect for fans of THE HUNGER GAMES and DIVERGENT!

 He is a Legend.
She is a Prodigy.
Who will be Champion?

 June and Day have sacrificed so much for the people of the Republic—and each other—and now their country is on the brink of a new existence. June is back in the good graces of the Republic, working within the government’s elite circles as Princeps Elect while Day has been assigned a high level military position. But neither could have predicted the circumstances that will reunite them once again. Just when a peace treaty is imminent, a plague outbreak causes panic in the Colonies, and war threatens the Republic’s border cities. This new strain of plague is deadlier than ever, and June is the only one who knows the key to her country’s defense. But saving the lives of thousands will mean asking the one she loves to give up everything he has. With heart-pounding action and suspense, Marie Lu’s bestselling trilogy draws to a stunning conclusion.

Why I want to read it:

First of all, look at that stunning cover. It's gorgeous! I can't stop staring at it. Or babbling about it, apparently...

Anyways, dystopian novels have a soft spot in my heart, and it makes me very happy when I find a good series (especially since there are so many YA dystopian novels lately...it seems as though everyone has some horrifying - or not so horrifying - alternate future for our world). I have really enjoyed the Legend novels because of the fast pace and intelligent characters. I've just finished reading Prodigy, and it was AMAZING. It moved my opinion of the series from "not a favorite dystopia" to "definitely a favorite dystopia" - it was that good. I really liked learning more about the world that this story takes place in, and I love Day and June even more now that I've seen more of them. I can't wait to see how their story ends!

  Follow on Bloglovin

1 comment:

  1. Nice pick! I have only read Legend and it was not as good as I expected it to be. But maybe now I will give Prodigy a try :) Thanks for stopping by.

    evelinesbooks.blogspot.nl

    ReplyDelete

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...