Monday, August 11, 2014

Top Ten Tuesday 34 - TBR?



Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

 This week's theme: Top Ten Books I'm Not Sure I Want To Read
I could only think of 6 offhand, since I'm pretty good about pruning my to-read list every once in a while. If I've lost interest or I'm pretty sure I won't read a book, I usually just take it off my TBR.
 18079804

This book was everywhere a few months ago, and everyone was raving. And on the blurb it said "In the tradition of Patrick Ness and Markus Zusak ..."

Those are two of my favorite authors, so obviously I was really excited to read it. But then the mixed/negative reviews started coming out, and I felt like I would have a lot of the same problems with this book as the people with mixed reviews. Still, some people with really similar tastes as me loved this book. I'm not sure if I want to give it a shot, but if I do it won't be any time soon.
 22328

I love science fiction, so I was thinking I should read some of those big name SFF books. Neuromancer is one of one of those canon books that everyone raves about, but after my less-than-stellar experience with Heinlein and Ursula K. Le Guin's sci-fi, I'm a little wary of it. I think part of it is that sometimes books are timeless, and sometimes they feel dated. So while I love 1984, I just could not get through Brave New World.
 

I have a love-hate relationship with this series. I loved book one, but book 2 went downhill and book 3 made me so angry I just wanted to stop reading the series. After constant pestering, I read books 4 and 5 - I was pleasantly surprised by 4, but 5 was such a chore to finish. My problem is that all the characters I care about are either dead or really bitchy right now, and since I'm sure most of the characters will be dead soon anyway, I'm just not invested in anyone's story. I will honestly probably just look up what happens on wikipedia or something once the next few books are out because it's not worth slogging through thousands of pages just to find out what you knew all along - people die.
 3754016

I thought the first book was okay, but it was full of cliches and sexism and just generally didn't leave me wanting more of this series. I hear that the next books get better, but then I also hear that they get worse. I think I probably won't read this one...
 11500217

I have heard nothing but fantastic things about this book. It's on my to-read list, and I will probably end up reading it. The only thing that is keeping me from picking it up is that lately I've been disappointed by a lot of YA fantasy, especially after  discovering the brilliance of Brandon Sanderson and Scott Lynch in adult fantasy. YA fantasy seems to be getting more formulaic, with very similar characters and apocalyptic scenarios across different books. I'm hoping this one will break the mold, but if I have to deal with even more insta-love and tortured angels I think I'm going to punch something.
 40159

I'm the weirdo that thought The Thief was okay and was not impressed by The Queen of Attolia. Everyone who has mixed feelings about the first book loves the second, and while I respect the author's bold choices, I was frankly bored through a lot of Queen. So do I keep reading, hoping it gets better? I do need a book that starts with K for my A-Z challenge this year...

blog signature photo 4bf1c374-231a-40b6-8756-317f9308721c_zpsf45cae08.jpg
Follow on Bloglovin

14 comments:

  1. I loved Half Bad! I thoroughly recommend it! :-)

    ReplyDelete
  2. Jessica @ a GREAT readAugust 12, 2014 at 3:20 AM

    I loved Angelfall! Such an awesome series. I would say there's definitely no insta love. Penryn hates angels since they have basically ruined the world and Rap is an angel...sorta... :) But note that I am saying insta because it's kind of obvious something will happen between these two. But I guess it also depends on your definition of insta. To me, it was not insta.

    Here's my Tuesday Post

    Have a GREAT day!

    Old Follower :)

    ReplyDelete
  3. Anna @ Books,Quotes & DimplesAugust 12, 2014 at 4:00 AM

    Angelfall is one of my all time favorite books. It's way better than the blurb & the characters are so witty. It's happening over a short period of time but it doesn't feel (and it isn't) like insta love. And believe me I'm very picky with romances in books. I hope you enyoy it :)

    ReplyDelete
  4. I'm on the fence about Angelfall too, though it didn't make my list. Here's my TTT

    ReplyDelete
  5. Nooooo, don't give up on George RR Martin! I am so excited about The Winds of Winter! I've seen that Sally Green book on a couple of these lists today though so I think I will steer clear!

    ReplyDelete
  6. I'm on the fence about reading "Half-Bad", too. So much hype surrounded this book, and then it didn't get that many positive reviews.

    My TTT

    ReplyDelete
  7. Angelfall was pretty good. In a way it made me think a bit of Supernatural with the angels in it. Good list!
    Check out my Top 10

    ReplyDelete
  8. Ok, I might give it a shot!

    ReplyDelete
  9. Yay I'm glad there's no insta-love. I will keep Angelfall on my TBR!

    ReplyDelete
  10. ooooh I love witty. Ok, I'm convinced, I'll read Angelfall!

    ReplyDelete
  11. Thanks for stopping by!

    ReplyDelete
  12. I just feel like there are other 1000+ pages books I'd rather spend my time on. I don't care about any of the characters anymore, except maybe Arya :/

    ReplyDelete
  13. Yeah I got caught up in the hype but then as I started reading more reviews, I felt like I wouldn't like it that much.

    ReplyDelete
  14. I've only seen one episode of Supernatural haha
    Thanks!

    ReplyDelete

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...